Boardwalk Empire Vol. 2 – Costello, Minnelli & Co.

By Pascal Ebner

Boardwalk Empire Vol 2 Cover Art Boardwalk Empire Soundtrack Vol. 2

On 2 September fans of the HBO Original Series “Boardwalk Empire” are going to get the chance to grab this musical delight: Volume 2 will feature recordings from big musicians such as Elvis Costello, Liza Minnelli and Rufus Wainwright. The first volume of the official soundtrack was able to climb the peak of the charts and even won the 2012 Grammy for Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media.

“Terry Winters, Martin Scorsese and the entire Boardwalk Empire team inspire the sound of the episodes as we move from the streets and alleys of Atlantic City to the smoky rooms of Al Capone’s Chicago and on down into the tropics of Florida. This compilation celebrates the mastery of all the artists involved.”

Randall Poster, music supervisor for “Boardwalk Empire”

Fans of the drama series, which is set in Atlantic City (starring Steve Buscemi, Nucky Thompson), can expand their sound selection even further with classic hits such as “It Had To Be You” by Elvis Costello, “Lovesick Blues” by Pokey Lafarge or “Who’s Sorry Now” by Karen Elson. The 20-track selection is assisted by backing band Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks, who provide an interesting flair to the music. Even performances by Stephen DeRosa and Margot Bingham (introduced in the coming season) will be featured on the soundtrack and the series itself.

The fourth season of Boardwalk Empire is going to be aired on 8 September. All other seasons (1,2,3) can be purchased on DVD and BluRay. Find the full tracklist and listen below.

Those who want more information on “Boardwalk Empire” itself should check out the official website.

On the Boardwalk Empire Vol. 2 Soundtrack you will find:
1. David Johansen – Strut Miss Lizzie
2. Stephen DeRosa – Old King Tut
3. Elvis Costello – It Had To Be You
4. Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks – Everybody Loves My Baby
5. Liza Minnelli – You’ve Got To See Mama Ev’ry Night (Or You Can’t See Mama At All)
6. Leon Redbone – Baby Won’t You Please Come Home
7. St. Vincent – Make Believe
8. Pokey LaFarge – Lovesick Blues
9. Neko Case – Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
10. Karen Elson – Who’s Sorry Now
11. Stephan DeRosa – You’d Be Surprised
12. Margot Bingham – I’m Going South
13. Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks – Sugarfoot Stomp
14. Rufus Wainwright – Jimbo Jambo
15. Kathy Brier – There’ll Be Some Changes Made
16. Margot Bingham – Somebody Loves Me
17. Chaim Tannenbaum – All Alone
18. Loudon Wainwright III – The Prisoner’s Song
19. Patti Smith – I Ain’t Got Nobody
20. Matt Berninger – I’ll See You In My Dreams

Have a listen to the new songs on SoundCloud: (via Billboard)

Verified by MonsterInsights