Gossip Alive and Vibrant With Genius Producer Rick Rubins

By Jo Phillips

 The band The Gossip and now just Gossip the American indie rock band that initially formed in Searcy, Arkansas broke through in 2006. The band was initially made up of singer Beth Ditto, Brace Paine, and drummer Hannah Blilie. They disbanded in 2016 after five albums but reformed to embark on an anniversary tour for Music for Men in 2019. Excitingly they have just released new music returning with Real Powertheir first album in 11 years. The album marks a reunion with acclaimed producer (and Demi G0D) Rick Rubin, who helmed the band’s pivotal 2009 album Music For Men

Recorded at Rubin’s home studio in Kauai, the process was temporarily halted by the pandemic and resumed when restrictions were lifted. 

The result is an 11-track celebration of creative expression and the power of a chosen family in the aftermath of collective and personal trauma.  The timing is ripe for a Gossip reunion, and Real Power heralds a new era and renewed sense of purpose for the trio.

When we began, so much about Gossip was about running away- that was always in the music. ‘We survived. We came from nothing, and we got the fuck out of there. And to be here 20 years later and still making music together is just incredible.’ 

Beth Ditto

‘Crazy Again,’ the first single from ‘Real Power,’ is a blissful classic that channels the energy of deep connection and joy. ‘The song is about actually being in love and feeling so safe,’ says Beth Ditto. 

The music video has Gossip once again collaborating with director Ssion (Perfume Genius, King Princess). Shot in Kansas City, the clip is classic Gossip, unapologetic and irreverent with unbridled energy. Set against Nathan Howdeshell’s jagged riffs, slabs of synth and Hannah Billie’s pulsing drums, Beth Ditto’s voice remains a thing of wonder; tender, but also capable of unleashing a ferocious range and exuding star power. 

 The trio’s blistering brand of soulful swagger brought queer politics to the mainstream, confronted body politics head-on, and singularly refused to be pigeonholed or ignored, landing magazine covers around the world. 

Ahead of their time they garnered huge critical acclaim and cemented their reputation as one of the most exciting and relevant must-see live bands delivering incredible sets at some of the world’s biggest festivals including Glastonbury, Coachella, and Pukkelpop.

A multi-platinum-selling band, Gossip has sold over 10 million records worldwide and are one of Indie Rock’s most exciting acts from the early 21st century.

Having been at the heart of the indie sleaze movement, Gossip’s ground-breaking legacy is about to be brought to the forefront once again. It feels like the perfect moment for these straight-talking rebel rousing icons to reunite at a time when the political, cultural, gender and sexuality issues that fired and inspired Gossip’s anthems are so much a part of the zeitgeist. 

Preorder the album HERE. See the full track listing below.

Real Power Track Listing

01 Act Of God

02 Real Power

03 Don’t Be Afraid

04 Crazy Again

05 Edge Of The Sun

06 Give It Up For Love

07 Turn The Card

08 Tell Me Something

09 Light It Up

10 Tough

11 Peace and Quiet

Verified by MonsterInsights